- Is divine smite magic?
- Can you use divine smite and Eldritch smite?
- Can a paladin smite with a thrown weapon?
- Can Eldritch smite crit?
- Can you divine smite and thunderous smite?
- Is Eldritch smite a spell?
- Is divine smite a Cantrip?
- Can you counterspell divine smite?
- Can you smite while raging?
- Can you divine smite twice?
- Is divine smite a bonus action?
- Can Cantrips crit?
Is divine smite magic?
Divine Smite isn’t a spell but it is fueled by spell slots, which makes it magical for rules purposes.
(When this ruling was first published in February 2016, it didn’t contain the spell slot criteria.
It was revised along with several others in August 2017.).
Can you use divine smite and Eldritch smite?
Neither ability requires an action to use, so as long as you hit with a melee weapon attack that happens to use your pact weapon you can use both. The only exception is that Eldritch Smite can only be used once per turn, while Divine Smite can be used as many times as you have melee weapon attacks.
Can a paladin smite with a thrown weapon?
Per Crawford, No: you can’t use the paladin’s Divine Smite with a thrown weapon.
Can Eldritch smite crit?
Eldritch Smite caps at 6d8 force damage, or 12d8 on a critical hit. The Eldritch Smite invocation specifically requires a “warlock spell slot”, referring to spell slots granted by the Pact Magic feature.
Can you divine smite and thunderous smite?
You absolutely can. It’s a bonus action to cast the spell, and no other action to use divine smite, as you just need to hit a creature. … In theory you could cast thunderous smite the round before and still use smite the next turn.
Is Eldritch smite a spell?
Eldritch Smite is Warlock slot only Only warlock spell slots from the Pact Magic feature can be expended to use Eldritch Smite; spell slots from the Spellcasting feature do not work with it. … The RAW on it specifies Warlock slots. Eldritch Smite works with warlock spell slots only—the ones you get from Pact Magic.
Is divine smite a Cantrip?
Divine Smite is not a spell and requires no verbal spell components. All it requires is you hit with a weapon and you expend a spell slot.
Can you counterspell divine smite?
No. Because the smite is not a magical effect according to the rules of determining magical effects, it is simply an internal ability that has magical origins like a dragon’s breath, which are not counterable using counterspell.
Can you smite while raging?
You can smite divinely while enraged. It’s a feature triggered when you hit with a weapon attack. … No, raging does not prevent you from using Divine Smite.
Can you divine smite twice?
TL;DR: other than “1 spell slot per attack” and “max 5d8 damage or 6d8 versus undead/fiends per use of divine smite” there are no limits.
Is divine smite a bonus action?
However, your player is right about the Divine Smite combo because while thunderous smite is a spell that is cast using a bonus action before you attack, Divine Smite is not a spell and does not require a bonus action it is a class feature that requires no action and is used after you hit with an attack.
Can Cantrips crit?
Yes, you roll twice as many damage dice for the spell on a crit. … When you get a critical hit with a spell attack, you roll all damage dice twice. So a critical hit with the cantrip Fire Bolt would deal 2d10 damage instead of 1d10. A critical hit with the 1st-level spell Chromatic Orb would do 6d8 damage instead of 3d8.