Quick Answer: What Is A Graduated Approach Sen?

How many stages are there in the graduated approach?

four stagesSEN Support is the system by which schools should assess the needs of children, and then provide appropriate support.

The system should follow four stages, often referred to as a ‘cycle’: Assess, Plan, Do, Review..

What does SEN support mean?

special educational needsSEN Support is what schools and similar settings use to find and meet the needs of children with special educational needs (SEN). They should change support where necessary for each child. This used to be called Early Years/School Action and Early Years/School Action Plus.

What does sen stand for?

special educational needsWhat does special educational needs (SEN) mean? The term SEN covers a wide range of needs. These include behavioural, emotional and social difficulties, speech, language and communication, hearing impairment, visual impairment, multi-sensory impairment, physical disability and autism.

What are the four areas of SEN?

The four broad areas of needCommunication and interaction. … Cognition and learning. … Social, emotional and mental health difficulties. … Sensory and/or physical needs.

What is meant by a graduated approach?

of support SEN support should arise from a four- part cycle, known as the graduated approach, through which earlier decisions and actions are revisited, refined and revised, leading to a growing understanding of the pupil’s needs and of what supports the pupil in making good progress and securing good outcomes.